Testimonials



The testimonials appearing below are from 1993 to 2016. We began renting our home as a Santa Cruz vacation rental in May 1993. During the late 1990s the house was remodeled to the present condition as you see it today with the exception of the addition of new hardwood floors and carpets, refrigerator, new HDTVs,, additional massage chair, new beds, roof, painting  etc, during the past several years. In 1998, the home became our primary residence for six years. But in 2006 we started renting again.  The review comments below were taken from a journal diary which we put out for people to document their visit for their enjoyment and the enjoyment of others. We hope this will give you a better idea of the home and this terrific neighborhood.


Perfect Santa Cruz Rental, April 4, 2016
This vacation home was perfect for us in every way. This home is beautiful, bright and comfortable. It is even fun to cook in this beautiful kitchen as it is stocked with everything and the views are great. The Seabright location is wonderful for walking to the beach, the museums, the Boardwalk, and excellent restaurants. Drive to Moss Landing for lunch and around Cliff Drive to see lots of sea otters, seals, and birds. The owners were also very accommodating to allow us to change the dates and our deposit was refunded within a day of departure. The only disappointment was that we could only stay 3 nights. There is too much to do and see so plan to stay longer. (Oh, don't forget to bring bath soap and shampoo; The only 2 things not included)

Santa Cruz getaway, March 2016
We had the pleasure to stay at this well appointed and conveniently located home for 4 nights. We have been coming to Santa Cruz annually for the last 10 years and I can only hope this rental is available for my next visit. The rooms were nicely decorated with wonderful amenities (sleep number bed, jacuzzi, massage chairs), very spacious and clean. The upstairs living space had incredible ocean views, lots of windows, skylights, fireplace, fully integrated AV system, and a rooftop patio - with more views of the ocean! Kitchen had all the appliances and implements one would require to prepare gourmet meals (and we did!) Overall an easy place to recommend!
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers. Richard H.,

Excellent home and amenities! Barbara I., March 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely home.  Walking distance to the beach, boardwalk, restaurants, coffee shops, and a brew pub.  The house is super cute and welcoming and the beds are comfy.  I am a light sleeper and had no issues snoozing through the night here-the neighborhood is very quiet. The massage chairs and jacuzzi tub were greatly appreciated after a long hike in the redwoods.  We will be back!

Outstanding! , Peggy C. Clarksville, TN, October 2015
If you want top class linens, towels, kitchen, beach towels and toys, amenities and location, this property meets your needs. Local restaurants within walking distance via beach or sidewalks, Whole Foods or Safeway a short drive away, and the upper deck for ocean watching and sunset pictures. We had a lovely ten day stay. The owner answered any questions in a timely manner. Will we stay again? Yes! No need to look further.

Veronica S., Summer 2015
Beautiful house that has all the comforts of home.  Very quiet neighborhood and walking distance to beach, restaurants and Boardwalk.  Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Comfortable and fun, Brian S.
Great property, close to everything.  We will stay there again.

Perfect place, March 2015
Had a great stay in Santa Cruz with my family. This place is large and well designed. It is kept in perfect working order by the owners and has everything in the kitchen  you would need to make any meal. The house has plenty of natural light. The rooftop deck is a great place to relax and has an ocean view.  Would stay here again !!

Cozy home sweet home!, Cathy B., November 2014
So comfortable, well maintained and inviting, felt like home.
Stayed: November 2014Submitted: November 7, 2014Source: VRBO
Recommended for: Girls getaway, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Perfect VacationRobert T., Dove Canyon, CA, September 2014
Two senior citizen couples enjoyed a perfect mini-vacation at this wonderful home in the Seabright Beach area of Santa Cruz.  The home is beautifully decorated and spotless.  Everything you need is there so no need to bring anything but your personal items and groceries.  With perfect weather, we really enjoyed sipping our evening cocktails on the roof deck watching the surf and sailboats.  And we can't say enough about the courtesy of the owner and the attention he gives to detail, including a very complete instruction binder on where to find things and how to operate the AV equipment, kitchen appliances, laundry, etc.  We really hope we can go back.

Love this place, Helen S., September 2014
We (a couple) ended a two week road trip at this rental in Santa Cruz and as it turned out we really saved the best till last. Within 10 minutes of arriving we were sunning ourselves on the upstairs deck with drinks. From here you can watch the boats bobbing on the ocean and get a great view across the pretty neighbourhood. All the living space is upstairs, including access to the deck (there's a toilet up there too), and the two bedrooms and bathrooms are downstairs (the beds are really comfy). The location is perfect too - it only takes a minute to get to the beach, a few minutes to the boardwalk, and the Seabright Pub and Brewery is just around the corner. There are a couple of convenience stores a short walk away, and there's a supermarket within about a five minute drive. I loved this place. It's homely, well maintained and looks just like it does in the pictures. If we ever return to Santa Cruz, this is where we'd want to stay.

Great family beach house!, Tracy P., Mountain View, CA, September 2014
Just stayed here with our family - two young elementary-school girls. They didn't want to leave and neither did we! The photos are accurate and show how light and airy the home is. We loved having breakfast at the bar overlooking the ocean, lunch on the roofdeck, and it's a very short walk to good restaurants in Seabright. Easy walk to the boardwalk and it really is a block away from Seabright beach. Lovely beach - less crowded than the Boardwalk beach. In two days there we saw sea lions and dolphins! The kitchen has everything you'd need (for smaller kids you might bring a few non-breakable plates and cups). The bedrooms are nicely separated and each has their own full bathroom.  The owners are very responsive and returned our security deposit promptly. They have stocked the place with towels and linens and boogie boards and beach chairs - really, everything! There's a park nearby - we didn't even go because we were so busy! And a natural history museum. But that's okay - we'll be back!

Great Girl's Getaway Weekend Location, Patty, March 2014
6 happy women just returned from a 3-day mini vacation at this beautiful, spacious, almost beach-front home, where we celebrated  2 March birthdays.  What a treat it was for us to have such a pretty place.  It has plenty of room so everyone had her own space if needed.  Great kitchen.  Awesome crow's nest deck.  For 6 women, there are 3 bathrooms, great feature.  We walked to the Seabright Brewery (about 5 blocks away) good food, live music, and full bar.  We found a local place (2 blocks away) , where they make a great martini and have a pool table (Brady's or Grady's??)  We loved having the garage so parking was never a problem. The entrance to the beach was just steps away and an easy walk to the beach.   It's a great place.  I did get a mini workout climbing the stairs to the 2nd floor where the kitchen, living, sun rooms are located.   Thank you Denny, we sure enjoyed our visit!!

A World Apart, Mary K., January 2014
We're not from far away, but Santa Cruz is a world apart. What a great month we had on Mott Avenue – Seabright State Beach walks almost every day, high tide or low, the sound of waves crashing (or not), star-filled night skies, the full moon casting its magical blue glow. It was fun to be able to walk to the Boardwalk and past the amusement park if the tides were right. The house itself is neat, comfortably furnished and well equipped, especially the kitchen, obviously stocked by cooks, including lots of cookbooks. The house also has ample lighting options, something we book readers appreciated, and the best instruction notebook of any VRBO rental we've been in (and we've rented a lot of VRBO houses). The roof deck is a great asset, too, with a propane grill. And all of the above comes without getting in the car! Then there are nearby redwood hikes galore, excellent farmers markets (even in January!), diverse dining options within minutes, eclectic downtown Santa Cruz with its interesting shops, restaurants and museums. Kudos and gratitude to Denny and Bob for knowing how to be such exceptional hosts in absentia but always helpful if we needed them.

Awesome place to stay very close to the beach!, Emily G., September 2014
This house is a great place to stay. It has a really nice layout with the bedrooms on the first floor and the living, dining and kitchen on the second floor. You can see the beach from the breakfast bar windows and the outdoor deck. The house is very comfortable and nicely decorated. Seabright Beach is a very short walk and you can also easily walk to the Boardwalk and Wharf in one direction, the harbor and restaurants in another direction and the Seabright Brewery, Betty Burger, and other restaurants in another direction. I would highly recommend this house as an excellent place to stay in Santa Cruz. It has it all!

Fantastic Santa Cruz location, Tracy H., August 2013
Our family of 5 stayed here quite happily for a full week. Everything in the description was spot on and we felt very much at home. The bedrooms are on the first floor, with the kitchen and large open living space on the second floor -- a kind of crow's nest with lovely views and an outdoor deck. It really is just steps away from Seabright Beach, a great spot, and a short walk to the Santa Cruz boardwalk and many fun, local restaurants. We would highly recommend it! If we find ourselves in the Santa Cruz area again, we would try to rent it again!

Fantastic, very close to beach, lovely views, Joanna R.April 2013
This place was fantastic. I would stay here again. The porch is lovely and relaxing. There are plenty of linens and the kitchen is well stocked. It is really very close to the beach, and a very short walk to the boardwalk. In my opinion a perfect location. No parking restrictions plus a garage. I didn't use the jacuzzi but it is enormous.  I highly recommend!

2012

October 17, 2012
We four sisters chose Santa Cruz for our annual sisterhood gathering. How lucky that we found your fabulous house. The furnishings and decorative touches are perfect - lighting fixtures and everything. We relaxed and had Cosmo's on the upper deck at Sunset and giggled until our sides ached.
The first days excursion was to the boardwalk where we relived vacation days of our childhood 50+ years ago by riding the carousel and we haven't lost the touch two of us got the ring directly into the clowns mouth and the other to hit the middle and. Today we went to Felton and enjoy the one and a half hour ride on the roaring Camp train (a bit pricey) had a sunset drink at Café Rio in Rio Del Mar and then lobster dinner at the crows nest rounded out our day, thank you.
PS it's clear that this place has been a labor of love.  Thank you for sharing the love.
Walnut Creek, CA

October 14, 2012
Dear Denny and Bob and future guest we really enjoyed our stay; perfect location and you did a great job on the remodel; love the massage chair and the Wi-F,i and the telephone really helped because I had to do a little business while here.  We went to San Francisco and ate at the house of Nanking in Chinatown, awesome.  Locally enjoyed Aldos and if you are looking for a 24 Hour place with good food and very reasonable prices try Santa Cruz Diner on Ocean Street. We enjoyed walks along Wes Cliff Drive past the surfing museum very much. Roaring Camp railroad was a fun way to see the redwoods. Then of course Monterey and Carmel are nearby as well. We enjoyed sitting out on your deck. Would love to come back someday.
Simi Valley, California

October 7, 2012
Absolute perfection! We enjoyed every inch of paradise at this lovely beach home. Thank you Denny and Bob for such a well kept fun environment. This little slice of heaven is exactly what I needed from the busy city life of New York
New York, NY

September 23, 2012
Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful place to stay. Everything we needed was right here in the house and the location couldn't have been more convenient. We really enjoyed every minute of our stay here.
Philadelphia, PA


August 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your amazing vacation home with us. Our week was filled with great walks on the beach and to the boardwalk, lounging on your deck with the amazing view of the ocean with fantastic weather. We love your massage chair and your fantastic upstairs with all the windows and skylights. We couldn't have asked for a better vacation
Alberta Canada

July 23, 2012
Your house proved to be an absolutely wonderful place to holiday. The amenities were superb we had such a fabulous time - a home away from home. We hope to come back again next summer.
Sacramento, CA

June 2, 2012
Absolutely wonderful vacation home that was comfortable, with a great location, great for teenagers. We really enjoyed ourselves here.
Your house is wonderful thank you so much for sharing it with us I've had a wonderful time here the location is perfect I definitely plan on coming back sometime soon, thanks
Modesto, CA

May 22, 2012
Marvelous house, great weather, a superb stay! This is our first time at your place, but a return trip for us as my daughter lives in Santa Cruz. It was so nice to have a family gathering with a view! We had our daughters Santa Cruz friends over for a sunset wine and cheese and casual meets for our family get together throughout the week. We would return again.
Minnesota

April 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful home. It's such an inviting and comfortable house and we were also happy to just walk out the door into the beach and to the boardwalk
Davis California

February 20 to March 31, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our six weeks stay in your very comfortable cozy home. You anticipated our every need, in fact this is the best outfitted home we've ever rented.
What a perfect location, lots of memorable excursions and day trips in easy reach, and, a lovely beach steps away. a great view to enjoy even on rainy days (of which there were quite a few) as well wife always says "you don't have to shovel rain." Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us!
Portsmouth New Hampshire

February 18, 2012
Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home. It was wonderful sipping coffee while watching the crashing ocean waves. The location here is fantastic, we walked everywhere. My husband and I even took turns going for a run I went out to the lighthouse and around the harbor can run out to natural Bridges. The kids had a blast too they thought it was awesome being able to walk to the boardwalk. Thanks again!
Davis, CA

February 12, 2012
Your house was so beautiful and nice we love everything! Your massage chair and Jacuzzi were my Favorites. Being that I work a lot and take care of the kids all the time it was nice to enjoy a beautiful relaxing house like yours. Thank you so much and we look forward to staying here again.
San Jose, CA

January 3, 2012
We've had a lovely celebration of Greg's 40th birthday here. The beach location is perfect. We were sad the boardwalk is closed midweek this time of year. But we enjoyed the walk anyway. We got take out from Dharmas in Capitola each night highly recommended for vegetarians and vegans. We had a great time at the Monterey Bay aquarium and today we have a zip line adventure planned at Mount Herman. The very best part of this day was seeing our son play and have a blast. He is 20 months old when he was a month old he had an operation. I think about the things he wouldn't be able to do safely-snorkel, swimming, and playing at the beach were things I think about often the thought of sand filled me with dread back then. But now we know how to help him do most things other children can do and with some planning and attentiveness playing in the sand was no problem. It was a special moment to think of the fear in the beginning and then reflect on how far we've all come and how happy we all are. It was a stay will treasure forever!
Northfield MN

January 2012 Super Bowl Sunday
Second time in your house! loved it both times!! My housemate and I had a great getaway weekend with the summer like weather. After long days of walking the beach the boardwalk in town the massage chair hit the spot. He wants to buy one now. It's so nice to stay in a place that is so well taken care of thanks for the last minute rental and quick emails my girlfriends from high school want to come back to eat at La Posta one night the Aquarius another night both excellent wanted to rent bikes but the only guy in town was closed for vacation he probably didn't know it was going to be 70° in early February, lucky us! Thank you so much will be back soon.
Menlo Park, CA

2011

October 26, 2011
Fantastic house. Loved how you can see the beach from the deck. Loved having campfires on the beach. Thank you for everything. Kip, Santa Cruz
 
October 23, 2011
Lovely home in a fantastic location! Enjoyed daily strolls on the beach and at the Harbor. Went kayaking with friends at Kayak Connection. Got some tasty breakfast at Seabreeze Cafe. Love the new Verve by Pacific Edge climbing gym. Java Junction still makes great fruit smoothies. Great to stay in the old neighborhood! Thanks for sharing your home with me! Sure to return again soon! Thanks, Rain, Seattle, WA
 
October 18, 2011
This is our first visit to Santa Cruz and this home has been a great location! We loved the house and it is beautiful and comfortable. The weather has been great. Brad and Susan, Rochester, MN
 
October 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing your home to us, and at such short notice no less! We appreciate it immensely.  Your home is lovely and is located perfectly-not to close to any busy streets yet close enough (walking distance) to all the action. We arrived on Monday-took in the home, did some grocery shopping. On Tuesday, we went for a walk on the Boardwalk, came back and walked down to the beach. Came home and enjoyed some stakes on the BBQ and watched a movie. Wednesday, went to the Winchester Mystery House and Big Basin Redwoods State Park, a MUST SEE! Relaxed, played on the beach. Four nights is not enough!
Scott, Apple Valley, CA

August 27, 2011
As I write this I am sad knowing tonight is our last night on Mott. We all had such a beautiful time and in so many different ways. We thank you for allowing us this time in your home for the month of August. A very special time. We blended family and vacation together for the first time. We had nothing but bliss! We love this home. Jenny, New York
 
July 30, 2011
Thank you for providing such a lovely home for our family to vacation in. The location was perfect! We absolutely fell in love with your community. I can't say enough about this house and the amenities you provided. This was our first vacation in a home and it was unbelievably convenient. The perfect vacation. Thank you again. Jessica, Roseville, CA
 
Mid July 2011
The magic of this quaint beach town filled our souls and soothed our spirits. Thank you so much. Lyn, Sacramento, CA
 
July 9, 2011
We had a wonderful time and the house was perfect. Thank you!  We loved being able to walk to so many places too. And thanks for all the helpful house and visitor information. The Limpkins & Walkers, Washington, DC
 
June 18, 2011
Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! Thoroughly enjoyed your home and the weather was great. Our visit was everything we hoped it would be and more. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home.
We loved the sound system and house speakers. Also the view is great. The glass wind guards on the deck are great too. Thanks!! The Lofy Family, Stockton, CA
 
June 11, 2011
We had such an amazing week long stay here in your lovely home. Truly a home away from home with every modern convenience and cozy atmosphere that was SO welcoming. The weather was fabulous to be able to walk two minutes to the beach made all the better. We will absolutely come back again!  Thank you for making your home ours :)  Scott, Veronica, Hayden, Austin, and Taylor, Livermore, CA
 
June 4, 2011
Fantastic family, amazing abode, wonderful weather, beautiful beach, perfect patio, and marvelous massage chair all helped make this week a relaxing retreat. It went way too fast!!! Thank you for the hospitality of your home! Rick & Bev, Stockton, CA
 
May 27, 2011
Fantastic house with a fantastic massage chair!! This South Bend crew loved our trip, we'll be back! Lisa and Daniel, Truckee, CA
 
May 22, 2011
Thank you! We had a beautiful week in Santa Cruz!! Love your home-location is perfect!! :) The Jess Family, Farmington, NM
 
April 7, 2011
This is the vacation rating from a 17 year old girl.
Negative:
I specifically asked for fresh fruit and my mother didn't get me any. I would have liked watermelon, but I understand that is not in season. So grapes would have been fine.
My Aunt marked the Gin bottle.
I got sunburned on the second day here. The sun and I…don't get along.
My brother drank all the milk and left tons of Oreos. WHO DOES THAT?!
Positive:
I love the downstairs shower. Serious. It is amazing.
There are a lot of attractive people walking around.
The massage chair is fantastic. I suggest everyone on earth to invest in one.
The deck is beautiful!!!
WE REALLY LIKE THIS HOUSE!
April 7, 2011
Had a wonderful stay in your home! Five generations have vacationed in Seabright at Seabright and East Cliff at Youngman's apartments. It's special to keep the tradition going for my children at your home.
Thanks, Sally, Katie (the teen above) and Jake, Winters, California
 
April 26, 2011
Thank you for the use of your lovely home. We had a wonderful visit. Enjoyed the beach at day and night. Debbie, Lodi, CA
 
April 25, 2011
We loved your house so much! Was a totally relaxing stay. We weren't here for long. Thanks so much for allowing us to share it. Hopefully we can come back next year. Joseph, Ned. Beckenham, Kent England

April 10, 2011 
A-mazing! This house was awesome. I would not have come in first place in the half-marathon were it not for the amazing massage chair. Black & yellow for life, beware of the hooligans!!! Tina, Millie, Candy, Allie, Kristina, Kristen. San Francisco

March 21, 2011
What an amazing home you have. Everything we could have needed was there, and then there were the extras! We had a great time relaxing and enjoying the area and accommodations. We feel very fortunate to have stayed here and will return again. Thank you so much - Tom and Jennifer

March 11, 2011
Birthday celebration, brewery, gumbo, Betty's Burgers, walks on the beach, talks on the deck, naps on the couch, massage chair, enjoyment, fun, relaxing. We'll be back soon. 

February 2011
We had a fantastic long weekend and really enjoyed your home. The rain was a bit of a bummer but it gave us time to enjoy our new nieces. Thanks for all the high-end amenities. We would love to town again this summer - From Colorado
 
February 2011
Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. Our weekend here was everything the doctor ordered R&R plus plenty of sunshine. We hope to return soon! - Los Gatos CA
 
January 22
It was lovely. Thank you

2010

December 2010
We very much enjoyed spending the last three weeks in your home over Christmas. Coming from Reno we really appreciated the change in scenery climate. Although it's winter here at least it's not snowing. My husband and I like to go running in the morning and we had plenty of opportunities to do so in your wonderful neighborhood. We also enjoyed walking and running over at the Harbor and the boardwalk. My husband also works daily from home on his computer daily. The router access and your setup allowed him to do this was exceptional. The wireless Internet and the ability to make unlimited long distance phone calls was a real advantage to us. Our kids really enjoyed the selection of television stations the surround sound and the massage chair. Thanks again for everything. Everything was as you said it would be. Happy New Year Reno Nevada
 
November 11, 2010. 
Thank you so very much for providing such a well organized and fabulous experience. Our gathering of women from all over was all the more because of your thoughtfulness. The weather was spectacular, so where the views and wildlife.

September 6, 2010
We had such a wonderful stay at your home. It is really unique and so close to the beach and a short walk to everything else.
 
September 25, 2010
Perfect, perfect, perfect! Just finishing up our yearly 2 week rental of this wonderful home. We only live 1.5 hours from here and feel like we’re worlds away. September was a wonderful time to be here - great weather - even went to the Santa Cruz County Fair - a real blast from the past. Lots of hikes, walks into town (Nickelodeon is a great little “art” movie house). Golf nearby and in Monterey. Discovered Tacos Moreno on Water St. with fabulous Mexican take-out. Books, puzzles, games and the deck!  Thanks so much, Bob and Denny - Same time next year! - Alamo, CA
 
August 22, 2010
We enjoyed our week at this wonderful home. Thank you. - Orange County, CA
 
August 29, 2010
We loved staying at this home, mainly because it was so close to the Boardwalk (went there every day!)
 
July 16, 2010
What a week in your beach house! We haven’t rented a house in years and now that we’ve found your, I have a feeling we’ll be seeing Santa Cruz from Mott Ave. for some time. Your home is so clean, spacious, airy and open. We have been sleeping in every day, enjoying the sounds of the surf and otters. We love hanging out on the deck, walking to the Boardwalk or to the beach. Just being lazy and relaxed! I’m so sad that we will be leaving on Saturday. See you next summer!

July 16, 2010
Words are so inadequate to convey how much we love staying in your inviting beach home. I have been visiting Santa Cruz for over 55 years… I have a memorial bench for my dear late husband at the Lighthouse on West Cliff Dr. Feeling like a Santa Cruzian has deepened with a stay at your lovely home. We’re already planning for 2011 so I’ll be in touch soon. Thank you for your graciousness.
Sacramento, CA

May 29, 2010
Dear owner, it was so nice here! I love your awesome view deck. The breaking surf was also fabulous while having coffee having sounds of the ocean. I love that there are so many windows and skylights. It was a fabulous vacation for my family. We had our day of rain and the rest of the week was great weather. The Boardwalk was so much fun except for one of us who got sick going on the hang glide ride. Love the walks on the beach. I could go on-and-on but our vacation is now over. We’ll come back and we would recommend this home to our friends. Thank you, from Sacramento.

May 23, 2010
Another fab girls weekend of high school friends. This is our seventh get together weekend after our 30th high school reunion. We hale form the Bay Area, Idaho and Oregon. We loved our walks on the beach, shopping Downtown and in Capitola, Eating and drinking our way through the neighborhood.

April 24, 2010
Another great visit to this home at Mott. The girls and I came back for a baby shower for the bride from our last visit in October 2007. Time moves on. Again everything was great! We especially enjoyed sitting on the deck chatting, soaking up the sun. Whenever we’re back in the area we’ll give you a call! Becky & Ashley

April 18, 2010
We had a great visit. Some must sees, 1) Roaring Camp Railroad  2) Monterey Bay Aquarium, 3) Santa Cruz Diner (Ocean St.) 4: The Mystery Spot 5) Linda’s Cafe (right up the street). Thank you, we appreciate your professionalism. See you soon! Ron & Sue, South Dakota

April 13, 2010
Denny & Bob thank you so much for letting us stay at your beautiful home. My 6 year old loved the beach and flew a kite with his dad while my baby and I played in the sand. We can’t wait to come back in the summer. Hope you’ll rent again. We appreciate all your amenities.  Thanks again, hope to be back soon.
Novato, CA

March 15
Great beach house! Love sitting on the deck watching the water, boats and beach while the kids napped. So relaxing.  The house is super comfortable and the baby gate is such a nice touch with a family having a toddler. We thoroughly enjoyed the weekend away with the grandma and grandpa visiting from New York. San Carlos, CA
 
March 31
Dear homeowners, thank you so much for letting me stay in your house. I think it is pretty funny that you have the living area upstairs and the bedrooms downstairs. I think that is pretty cool. Thank you for letting us stay at your awesome beach house. Allison, age 12.
 
April 5
Dear Denny and Bob, your house is so cool! The view form the porch is beautiful. Unfortunately it was a very stormy day when we arrived. I love how there are so many skylights; it is so light upstairs. When I saw the hot tub sized bath I immediately wanted to take a bath. It is very neat that there are TWO big screen tvs. When I saw lord of the rings I demanded I see it on one of those TVs during my stay. My whole family (me included) love the massage chair!! Right this minute my mom  is using it! My brother and I both own iPod touches so we'll definitely use the WiFi. My two little sisters really liked the alcove by the windows and it is the place for all their games. What I like the most is that you can see the beach from most of the upstairs. Thank you for letting us stay at your awesome house. We all enjoyed it very much. Sincerely Jojo, age 12.
 
April 8, 2010
D&B, this is our last morning and I am still delighted with this house! It has an awesome location. We can bike anywhere in town. Sometimes faster than driving. Thanks for letting us use your house! Erika, Sebastapool, CA

2009

November 20-22, 2009
Emli’s Sweet 16. Me, my family and a few close friends had an AMAZING weekend. We loved how close we were to the beach and the Boardwalk. The house had everything we needed for the weekend. We loved the house and the view. Thank you so, so, so, so very much.  Emily, Family & Friends Ceres, CA
 
Thanksgiving 2009
Great time at the beach! The dolphins, sea lions and pelicans! It was awesome! Location, location, location! Couldn’t ask for a better spot! Thanks for sharing your house. Chico, CA

Sept 30 – Oct 4
Had a WONDERFUL time!!  We spent one day in Monterey, mostly at the Aquarium and Cannery Row; another day just beach-combing; and then Saturday all day on the Boardwalk.  And each day it was such a pleasure to come back "home".  It was such a treat.  The grandkids had a ball. I did find time to do one of my favorite things (cook) on Friday night, using the BBQ for a delicious meal and watching the sunset. Once again, thanks for everything - you have a beautiful home, and we appreciated being able to share it. Kevin, Molly, Alex and Ava  North Carolina 

Aug 15-22
Thanks so much for having us in your home. We loved being in the old neighborhood where I had lived in the 1970's in the little yellow house on the corner across from you 202 Mott and at 210 Cypress as well. It was lovely to walk down to Aldo's, the yacht harbor, the boardwalk and many walks on the beach, also being able to have our Santa Cruz friends over for a home cooked dinner was fun. Your house was lovely for that and great for cooking.  The smoke from the forest fire was pretty bad at times but seemed to usually be able to escape when the fog burned off. Hopefully we will pick a smoke free week next time.  What a nice home! Thanks for renting to us! Thanks, Amy

Aug 8 - 15
THANK YOU!  We had just a phenomenal time at your home.  We can't wait to rent it again.  The proximity to the beach was perfect.  We thought we'd be a bit further back...being that close was such a treat!  Mostly, we enjoyed the rooftop deck.  We were on it every morning and evening...and it was perfect for watching the meteor showers on Wednesday evening...we had the kids out there until 12:30am watching...
Funny note, on the day we arrived, our kids (ages 9 and 6) ran upstairs and our youngest Meagan yells out "there is a huge TV!!)  We were so comfortable in your home!  Thanks again so much!  We brought home great memories.
Kristin  Novato, CA

July 2009
Another wonderful two weeks, our 4th year at this wonderful home. Perfect weather, perfect location. Great amenities. We really appreciate the computer and Wi-Fi availability - it is not clutter. Thanks for opening up your home to us. 
Kris & Dave, Alamo, CA
 
June 5, 2009
The house and location were everything we hoped for! Could not resist on commenting on the Marconi radio in the Master Suite! My father learned to be a radio operator at the Marconi School in London when he was a mere 14 years of age and traveled as a radio operator for the British Merchant Marines and also for the R. A. F. Ferry Command during WWII. He would have adored that radio! Thanks for sharing that with us. It was very touching. Munzer family, Yuba City, CA

January 19, 2009 
We love your house!!!! I brought my parents here for a Christmas Present and am so glad I did. Our original plan was just to stay until Sunday, but we were having such a great time and enjoyed the house so much we extended our stay another night. The weather was great and we enjoyed hanging out on the patio. Love that fact that we are so close to everything. Thank you so much for letting us stay in your awesome home for our mini vacation! We hope to be back soon and definitely recommend your home to our family and friends!  Thanks again! Dawniel, Sacramento, CA

2008
 
December 24 - 30, 2008
What a lovely home!! My sister in law, mother in law, wife and son had a wonderful Christmas here in California. We scurried around on 12/24 to get ready for Santa’s arrival. We traveled to the redwoods state park, the beach, wharf, aquarium, to name a few places. It has been an excellent vacation. I got to touch the Pacific Ocean for the first time since I was ten. Everything we needed was here and we ate and played into every night. Mike and Family Portland Maine and Massachusetts


September 10 - 15, 2008
We appreciated Mott Ave. guide book. The house is terrific. It is very comfortable and also a visual delight. We came here for our daughter’s graduation from Moss Landing with a Masters in Marine Science. The first night here we had a lovely dinner at the Peachwood Restaurant at the Pasatiempo Golf Course. We enjoyed Seabright Beach, picnicking in the redwood forest and watching the sea lions play. Thank you for helping to make this an outstanding celebration. Dean, Poway, CA


September, 2008
What a fabulous house! You thought of everything! Thank you - this was a very memorable trip for us. Paul 

September, 2008

Thank you!! If I’m ever this way again I would stay here and recommend it to others. Debby
 
August 25, 2008
We had a great time in this beach house! The location of this house is great and the house is beautiful! Tames and Pat Amsterdam, The Netherlands

August 22, 2008
We really enjoyed staying here. The house is very comfortable and pleasant. The location is great. We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. We will be back.
Robin & family

June 28 - July 12, 2008
After another glorious two weeks on Mott we hate to leave! This is really the perfect decompression vacation for us. We just love this house and the location - it’s perfect. The weather was perfect; July 4th was a tad quieter, but still quite a celebration. The beach, boardwalk, walks, the deck! Thanks for making the house available. We’ll be back! Kris & Dave

June 21-28, 2008
Denny and Bob thanks again for providing this wonderful beach retreat. The house is perfect and an excellent home base for visiting the Santa Cruz area. “Book us for next year, Dano.” Ron & Mary Jane Phoenix, AZ

May, 2008
Thanks for letting us stay here, we really enjoyed everything. Les & Heidi Las Vegas, Nevada

May 17, 2008
Thank you so much for the wonderful mini-vacation. I grew up on the beach but my children didn’t grow up with that luxury. It was so nice to finally introduce them to the Pacific Ocean! We all had a wonderful time. The fully equipped kitchen, the deck, the view, and all the little extras really made for a perfect getaway. Thank you. David, Rachel & Kids Roseville, CA

March 20, 2008
Simply DEVINE break for this Kansas family in need of a piece of the ocean. The house was just perfect! Loved the BEACH and groovy Downtown. We couldn’t have asked for a better Spring break. Thank you for making us so comfortable...and English tea in the cupboard, just perfect. The Patterson Family Kansas

February 11, 2008
What a great vacation in truly wonderful house, best location, lots of sun lights and such a comfortable place to stay. Your house is so organized and we loved all the little extras, like the sundeck and large indoor Jacuzzi. We hope to be back soon. Sabine

2007

November 26, 2007
We had such a great Thanksgiving holiday at your house and in Santa Cruz. The lads (26-30) enjoyed it as well. We had unbelievable sunny, warm days (except the last)!! Thanks. Sue and Jim - San Francisco

November 19, 2007
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful home. I was impressed in how well it was stocked with all the necessities. We all had such a good time.
Brooke and Logan - California

October 22, 2007
Thank you so much for the use of your lovely home. It was wonderful for all the kids (ages 28-32). to be able to stay with us. The bride had her hair done in the dining room. It made for wonderful pictures. We loved being close to the beach and the sea lions lulled us back to sleep after they woke us in the night. Thanks again. When we come back to Santa Cruz, we will give you a call. Bruce and Becky - California

September 1, 2007
What a place! Please, can we live here? We wanted for nothing! Thank you. We had a blast in Santa Cruz!  Special mention for Linda's Seabreeze Cafe on Seabright Ave. It rocks! Phil and Ingrid and kids - London, UK

July 14, 2007
Another wonderful sojourn at Seabright! It was great to meet you in person! We loved our stay and so did the company that came to visit. Had beautiful blue sky for 3 days at each end and a soothing cloud cover on between. We did our usual exploring of the area - beaches and mountains, golf, etc. In Monterey, wine tasting (David Bruce and Byington), and this time visited the Arboretum at UCSC. Wish we lived hereso we could be "volunteer "weeders" there. We enjoyed discovering Gayles in Capitola - will be starting our diets tomorrow! See you next year. Kris and Dave - California

June 30, 2007
Our week in your beach home has been wonderful! The weather, fun people, boardwalk, beach and of course, your home made it a very special time for us. We are sold on Santa Cruz and will return next summer. Hopefully you will continue to provide a refuge away from the Arizona summer heat for us. We couldn't have had a better experience! Ron and Mary Jane - Phoenix, AZ

June 23, 2007
We really enjoyed the house.  It was ideal for our needs.  My 9 year old grandson was enchanted with all the wonderful lighting effects, my 7 year old granddaughter delighted in the little remote controlled dog which she befriended in short order and worked at teaching it to go up and down the stairs.  My daughter-in-law totally loved the massage chair and Jacuzzi, my son glued himself to the HDTVs, and I truly appreciated the quiet second bedroom and bath to myself.  You have a wonderful, light, airy, comfortable place--ideally located for exploring the area, and very well-designed and equipped.  I think you're brave to rent it out so generously?  My brother, John, and his family rented a house on the street south of Seabright, which was dark.  He and his wife loved our place and are thinking they may come back another time and see about renting it from you.  I don't know when they're thinking of doing it, but I know they'd love it. Thank you so much for entrusting us with your delightful home. It was the perfect home-away-from-home for us and favored us with all its charms and comforts during our family reunion. We couldn’t have been more pleased. Best wishes to you.  Mary, Kenny, Jennifer, Jonas, Becca. Palm Beach, Florida

June 16, 2007
We had a great time in your beautiful home! The kitchen is much more enjoyable to cook in than our own at home! Thanks so much for the “baby gate” it was definitely helpful. Our 23 month old has now figured out how to use it so I guess it must be time to go home! The house is in such a perfect location for all ages. Our 19 year old twin daughters enjoyed it as much as our 3 and a half and two year olds. Thanks for sharing your home. Would love to come back again. David, Jill, Melissa, Jessica, Abigail & Matthew South Pasadena, CA

2006 Summer

August 19, 2006
D&B, thank you for providing such a comfortable beach house. We fixed some great fish dinners here, enjoyed morning coffees on the rooftop deck, beach walks, Boardwalk and of course Capitola. Gayle's provided a fabulous birthday cake for youngest. The battery operated stuffed dog in the 2nd bedroom was a big hit.  The Flath Family

7/29/2007
A very good experience. We spent the second two weeks of our Soquel experience here and overall a great choice. The house is great and the upgrading and remodeling is very well done. Aldos was good for breakfast/lunch/brunch but not so good in the evening. Seabright Brewery, Al Dente were both very good and very busy, easy three minute walk. The Crow’s Nest, also an easy walk, was very enjoyable for dinner. The Boardwalk and MYSTERY SPOT a hoot! Real, old fashioned seaside tourist traps. But, better still, the eclectic mix that is Santa Cruz-sitting out on the pavement (sorry-sidewalk) downtown and people watch-absolutely fascinating! shouters, ageing hippies, ladies who lunch, gay couples, Van Helsing look-a-likes –awesome! Denny, you were a sweetheart when you sorted out a problem we had. Hope Hawaii was good. The weather here was great during our stay. Pat and Hannah, St. Helens, England 7/15/2007

Previous Years (Note: There was a period from summer of 1999 to July 2007 that our home was not a vacation rental and the entire house was remodeled.)

1999

Wonderful two weeks in S.C., just a block down on Mott from where I lived in 1970 as a UCSC Senior. Fabulous weather the whole time. Big booming Fourth-Of-July – wow! Love the decks, the sun room, closeness to Boardwalk and Downtown. Nice 25 minute walk to movies. Sorry, but breakfast at Aldo’s was perfectly disappointing. Happy Hour at the Crow’s Nest for the Wednesday night Regatta was pretty nifty. Loved all the amenities in the house – music, fireplace, computer, etc. June, 1999

1998

We love your garden. It’s my favorite hobby too. This is my favorite beach house and we always hate to leave. We loved all the new editions. This is a great beach house. We had a wonderful stay and I sure wish we could stay longer. Beth, July, 1998.

What a fabulous beach house! We had gorgeous weather, everything was perfect. Thanks for sharing. Jane, 1998.

1997

This is our third year staying in your beach house. Love the location, views and new editions and remodels. We are rolling over our deposit so that we can stay here again next year. Amelia, August, 1997.

1996

This is the first time we’ve stayed in Santa Cruz but I have a feeling it won’t be the last. The house certainly added to our feeling of peace and relaxation. It’s hard to go back home. Nancy, September, 1996.

The weather was nice all week. We thoroughly enjoyed all the new additions. We’ve stayed here for three years and we hope to continue renting. 1996.

1995


So I reflect on my month’s stay in your cottage. I realize it’s been a time of joy. My children have each spent time with me. The beach and boardwalk and out to dinner have added to my personal time of togetherness while developing a great “personal awareness” of each other as grandchildren, parent and children. Your cottage has certainly been a wonderful place to be for an exciting fall at Seabright. November, 1995.

Dear everyone, I spent a grueling few weekends early this year searching for a summer rental as our family had done in the 50s. I decided the childhood location was too far south (Aptos) and honed in on this Seabright area. After lots of driving and looking and fatigue, I narrowed my choice to one house: your home. Naturally it was booked solid all summer. Imagine my delight when I learned of a half hour old cancellation (Don’t know why I asked) by a regular who just bought a house nearby! So there you have it. I had very nearly committed to a nearby, inferior house. We enjoyed depth charges at Java Junction, brews and food at Seabright Brewery, salad bar at Carpo’s, lovely local food at Gabriella’s, unusual Chinese at O’mei (oh my!), pottery painting at Petroglyph, frolicking on the beach. I love this place!  Karla, 1995.

My family and I have been coming to Santa Cruz now for years and have been renting another neighborhood cottage. What a difference this place is. All your remodeling and interior decorating makes your home very easy to rent not to mention how extremely comfortable and well equipped it is. Thank you so much for allowing us to rent form you. You’ve done a wonderful job of decorating and we look forward to renting from you again. Connie, June, 1995.
 
The deck was the greatest. We lived there the last ten days. Gordon, April, 1995.

Who said California doesn’t have seasons. Again we had a wonderful stay. Again the experience was different than a year ago. While the rain was relentless, this cottage just got cozier and cozier. The new deck is wonderful and I ventured out there at each break in the weather. I’ll be back. Thanks again for another wonderful experience. Bobbie, January, 1995.

The weather outside was frightful but your place was so cozy and delightful! We laid around and boozed and snoozed! We walked and drove down east cliff drive, saw some spectacular surf. We hope to return often. Jim, January, 1995.

1994

We spent a wonderful Thanksgiving evening in your attractive beach home. The view of the ocean and the (most beautiful) sunsets were outstanding. Genevieve, November, 1994.

Our family has been vacationing in Santa Cruz for generations, and we love it. We arrived on Saturday in time to do some grocery shopping at our favorite local market, Shoppers Corner, and grab a bite to eat at Seabright Brewery. One day we went for a walk at the end of the peer and watched the sea lions. We came home and ate lunch spending three hours on the deck. Later we walked down to Aldo’s for a glass of wine and some calamari while waiting for my sister to arrive. You have done a great job on the house and we feel very comfortable here. You have great neighbors too. September, 1994.

We had a wonderful stay at your home! I stayed at this house about 30 years ago-the changes are amazing! We have stayed in the Seabright (Castle Beach) area for generations. My Aunt owned a home here in the 1960s so Seabright is like a second home to me and now to my children. Staying at your home has just added one more happy memory to all the happy memories we have of this area. Patti, 1994.

Had a great time spending fourth of July weekend here. This is my first time in Santa Cruz and I loved it being here in this awesome beach house with terrific view. I also thought it was cool that we were only 5 minutes from the Boardwalk and Yacht harbor. I loved everything in this house form the decks with a view of the ocean to the garage door opener. I hope I can visit this beach house again. Christina, July, 1994.

We had a great time with three of our granddaughters. We are looking forward to another visit soon. Gena 1994.

Thank you very much for an enjoyable stay. I had a lot of fun. This is a very enjoyable beach house. The view from the new deck is breathtaking! The whole city is wonderful and I can’t wait to move here some day. Wendy, April 1994.
 
1993

I had a wonderful time staying in this immaculate beach house. It was really convenient having the boardwalk and beach and yacht harbor only steps away. We are coming to stay in your house again at Christmas. Thanks a bunch, Katie. November 1993.

We had a great time in a great house, thank you. I was afraid we wouldn’t have equipment for a Thanksgiving dinner, but you proved me wrong. Thank you. The Deck is fabulous. Perfect weather all weekend so we used it a lot. Jane, November1993.

Both my husband and I can’t thank you enough for this haven for a few days of complete bliss. This is the first time we’ve ever vacationed in a beach home, a garden model home. I’m looking forward to a return trip, Janette, October, 1993. This trip to your “home away from home” has been great. We’ve always gone to Dillon Beach in the Bodega Bay area, but will choose Santa Cruz form now on. Bert, 1993.

My family had a wonderful time at your wonderful beach house. We thank you so much for the use of it. So I finally got to see your home. It was worth all the work. You’ve done a wonderful job decorating. Joanne, 1993.

We had a wonderful stay at your cute home. We love to look out the upstairs window to climb the big trees outside the kitchen, to see the ocean water over the deck through the day, and see the sunset each night. The many walks along the beach were peaceful and fun, especially those walks near the witching hour where we can see anything from bonfires to vampires. But, all fun aside, the peacefulness here is what a writer needs to write a good book. There is much joy in sitting outside on the deck downstairs at the Master Bedroom talking to passers by while sipping a fine glass of champagne. This has been an experience that has brought new meaning to the term serenity for us. Thanks for sharing your cozy get-a-way, Bobbie, October, 1993.

Our family has been vacationing in Santa Cruz since 1913 (great grandmother). We enjoyed bringing our baby girl to your beautiful “Tree House”. The upstairs view is so cheerful. The view of the trees and ocean gives us the feeling of being in a (designer) tree house. Everything is outfitted perfectly. Even the dishes match. Thank you for sharing a little bit of heaven with us. Many happy memories to all that share this house. Brad and Blair, August 1993.

Dear owners, this is a very pretty little cottage. I enjoyed my stay. Healy, age 9, July 1993
It was so nice staying in a clean nicely decorated house. You did a wonderful job with the remolding. We’ve vacationed in Santa Cruz for over 15 years and still enjoy Seabright Beach. Jeff’s and Jennifer’s Mom - July 1993.

This house is very cute! You also got a great view of the ocean. Thank you for letting us rent it.  Jennifer, age 9 - July 1993.

To the Owners: This is one of the best houses I ever stayed in. I hope we get to rent it next year.  Jeff, age 11, July 1993


info@vacationsantacruz.com





[Home Page] [Description] [Photos] [Testimonials] [Reservations] [Rates/Policies] [What to do]